Improved user permissions and CUI audit - March 31, 2023
As our second release in the IT module series, we're releasing a set of improved, precise permissions that will allow you to securely onboard and offboard your shop employees. This includes:
Here's how the new set of permissions will appear for a user on your Team page:
Note: As part of our IT module package, this feature is available for purchase at the Professional and Enterprise pricing tiers. To learn more, reach out to your Customer Success Manager or our Support team today.
The CUI Data permission allows you to control which users can view controlled part data, as marked by the export-controlled/ITAR flag.
Deselecting the CUI Data option for a user blocks them from seeing CUI in any part of the application (including global search, the part library, quotes, orders, Similar Parts search, notifications, Analytics, etc). Any part, quote, or order with CUI data will not be present in their account.
For example, here's one CUI-allowed user's (example) part library.
Here's that same part library for a user who does not have permission to see CUI data.
Previously, members of your organization could download any file in Paperless Parts to their local machine from the Build-a-Quote page, the part viewer, and the Orders page.
You can now prevent users from downloading files locally by unchecking the Download permission in their account. This will remove the Download all option and download arrows from their instance of Paperless Parts.
Here's what the part viewer looks like for a user without Download permissions:
External share permissions
We've added three tiers of permissions to the external share feature, giving you control over how members of your team interact with any messages sent to entities outside of your shop. Users with Edit permission can view, contribute to, and initiate new external collaboration conversations as usual.
Read-only users can view and contribute to external collaboration conversations, but cannot initiate conversations with entities outside of your organization. They'll be able to see the External tab in the collaboration tool, but they won't have the Start New Chat option available.
No access users will not be able to view or edit any external collaboration messages. By default, their collaboration tool will always be on the Internal tab and will not have the External tab available.
You can now select members of your team to serve as Administrators. Users marked as Administrators have access to the maximum permission set, including edit permissions on the full suite of permissions outlined above.
Once a team member is marked as an administrator, they cannot be removed from your organization by any non-Administrator user.
Administrators also have access to a CUI Audit Log, a CSV record of which users have accessed or modified CUI data in their organization.